U-turn laws are different everywhere you go. If you drive in Virginia, it will be helpful for you to know where you are and are not allowed to do a U-turn.
Read along to learn all you need to know about legal and illegal U-turns, Virginia right of way laws, and intersection traffic rules.
ARE U-TURNS LEGAL IN VIRGINIA?
Yes, U-turns are legal at intersections where you are visible for 500 ft, and there are no signs prohibiting U-turns.
U-turns are illegal where there are signs posted that they are illegal (this is usually in high traffic areas or other places where U-turns would be unsafe). They are also illegal in the middle of the street where you are not at an intersection.
The illegal U-turn ticket cost in Virginia is $81 but could be more or less, depending on what you are charged with, or what the judge decides if you go to court.
For the full text of the law about U-turns, see the Virginia U-turns Law.
CAN YOU TURN RIGHT ON RED IN VIRGINIA?
Yes, you can turn right on red if:
- There are no signs prohibiting you from doing so.
- The light is a red circle, not a red arrow.
- You have come to a full stop at the light before proceeding.
- You can do so safely (no oncoming automobile or foot traffic).
How much is a ticket for turning right on red when it is unsafe? $101, but it could be more or less, depending on what you are charged with, or what the judge decides if you go to court.
For the full text of the law about right turns, see the Virginia Right Turn On Red Light Law.
WHAT ARE INTERSECTION RIGHT OF WAY RULES IN VIRGINIA?
Right-of-way rules come into play when two or more vehicles enter an intersection. Most of the laws are common sense, but read along in case there’s something you didn’t know before!
Right of way at a stop sign
If you are at a 2-way stop, cross-traffic has the right of way. Once there is no cross traffic, the driver who stopped first has the right of way.
If you are at an all-way stop, the driver who stopped first has the right of way. Should two or more drivers stop at the same time, the driver who is on the right has the right of way.
Right of way at a yield sign
If you approach an intersection with a yield sign, you must yield until you can safely traverse the intersection.
Sometimes, this means slowing down and continuing on your way. Other times, this means coming to a complete stop to allow the traffic with the right of way to pass safely.
Right of way at an uncontrolled intersection or highway on-ramp
Whenever traffic merges or crosses without any signs, such as in parking lots, on highways, and in neighborhoods, the driver who arrives first has the right of way. Everyone else must yield until it is safe to move forward.
Other yield situations
Virginia law states that if you are driving at an unlawful speed, you forfeit your right of way. It also states that you must yield when it is most safe to do so.
So let’s say you think it’s your turn to go at a stop sign, but the other driver goes anyway; if you go just to prove that you had the right of way and end up in an accident, you could still get ticketed. It’s your job as a driver to make a safe decision at all times.
The failure to yield right of way in Virginia ticket cost is $81 but could be more or less, depending on what you are charged with, or what the judge decides if you go to court.
For the full text of the law about yielding (or taking) right of way, see the Virginia Right of Way law.
CAN A TRAFFIC ATTORNEY HELP ME IN VIRGINIA?
Yes! If you think you have been wrongfully ticketed, if you are wondering how to fight an illegal U-turn ticket, or if you have been summoned to court but need someone else to attend on your behalf, you can call a traffic attorney.
At Cook Attorneys, we have decades of experience in traffic court, and we know all the best defenses to help you get the best possible outcome for your case. If you’re not sure how we can help, please feel free to schedule a free consultation today!
Fill out the form below to request more information about how we can serve you. We look forward to hearing from you!